Established in Brussels in 1973, the European Food Law Association (EFLA) is an international non-profit making organisation that seeks to contribute to the awareness and better understanding of food law and to contribute to the development and international harmonisation of food law, with due regard to its specific character and its role in the field of consumer protection. 

EFLA membership provides a network of experts in food law and food policy including food lawyers, academics and regulatory professionals, who contribute to the development of food law by their professional activities or publications. 

As part of its mission, EFLA organises workshops, conferences and congresses to promote the objectives of the association and to foster discussions on various topics within the field of food law. EFLA also develops position statements to address legal principles and points of law. EFLA has non-governmental observer status at the Codex Alimentarius and is recognised by several global and regional institutions, including the European Commission.

The Council of EFLA is composed of individual members elected by the General Assembly for a period of two years. The Council includes the President of the Association, three Vice-Presidents, a General Secretary and a maximum of sixteen other members. The EFLA Council currently includes:

  • Amat Emily
  • Arayess Sarah
  • Coppens Patrick
  • Corte Paola (EFLA President)
  • Dubitsky Marie
  • Durazzo Giuseppe
  • Gerstberger Ina
  • Hunt-Wood Frances
  • Jaskólska Joanna (Secretary General)
  • Krakowiak Joanna
  • Kyrimi Eleni
  • Loosen Peter
  • Lox Wouter (EFLA Treasurer)
  • Meier Christian
  • Meisterernst Andreas (EFLA Vice-President)
  • Mrohs Angelika
  • Natterer Andreas (EFLA Vice-President)
  • Ombredane Manon
  • Planchenstainer Francesco
  • Rodriguez Fuentes Vicente
  • Verheijen Irene (EFLA Vice-President)